Weekly wrap-up of entertainment quotes from AP

July 18, 2008 at 7:00 pm Leave a comment

“My heart is with them and all my love goes to them.” Jon Voight, after his daughter, Angelina Jolie, gave birth to twins in the south of France.

___

“I felt the emotion of both the mother and the father. … They were happy.” Dr. Michel Sussmann, who delivered Angelina Jolie’s twins.

___

“The CD was a confidence trick. It wasn’t just music that people used to buy, it was a total art form. … I think that’s what people like. They like it personal. They like vinyl because if you scratch vinyl, it’ll be scratched, but it’ll be your scratch. It will only be on your record.” Roger Daltrey, saying the scrapping of long-play records signaled the death of the music industry.

___

“My dress has beautiful beads on the bottom of it, and I stepped on my gown and they made me slip. It was like I was on Rollerblades. There was no conspiracy or anything. Nobody left marbles on the floor. It was just me.” Miss USA Crystle Stewart, who fell as she walked on stage for the evening gown competition in the Miss Universe pageant.

___

“It’s terribly scary to be followed by men in cars with cameras. … It’s terrifying, you know? They’re breaking traffic laws and putting you and other people in danger. I try to follow the speed limit and be Zen about it. It’s not like I’m doing anything exciting going to the dry cleaners or to Whole Foods to shop for groceries.” Jessica Biel, in an interview in Harper’s Bazaar magazine.

___

“Working without knowing what you are doing from start to finish is very difficult. It was really improvisation. It was exciting. It keeps you on your toes.” Lucy Liu, on her role in the hit summer animated film “Kung Fu Panda.”

___

“When you write a song called `R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A.,’ that is for the general public to consume. When you write a song called `Ain’t Gonna Need This Body (Don’t Need This Body),’ that is for people who are halfway through their lives.” John Mellencamp.

___

“I am committed to my belief in myself and in my abiding faith to meet this challenge with a heartfelt optimism and determination.” Natalie Cole, who has been diagnosed with hepatitis C.

___

“The first time I heard people were asking for the Rihanna, it was really flattering and maybe a little strange. It caught me by surprise, but now I feel it’s a very cool thing. I don’t feel the pressure to change it up again at all. I like it, as they like it.” Rihanna, on the popularity of her short hairstyle, in an interview in In Style magazine.

___

“I still never finish a book without being terrified I can’t write another one. I never start one without being terrified that I can’t finish it.” Danielle Steel.

___

“I still very much love her.” Al Reynolds on his soon-to-be ex-wife Star Jones.

___

“There was a time when working people could find a job. A young guy could get a job and he was going to stay there until he retired, get the gold watch and all. Today, he don’t know if he’s going to retire once he gets in.” Bluegrass singer Del McCoury.


Entry filed under: News. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Top 5 lists in entertainment Billy Crystal joins 9/11 memorial foundation board

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Archives

Categories

Top Posts

Recent Posts


